USD 231

Congratulations to Aaron Batterbee, a Biology teacher at Gardner Edgerton High School, selected as the USD 231 Secondary Teacher of the Year!

Aaron has taught in the Gardner Edgerton School District for the past seven years. Prior to that, he taught for eight years at De Soto High School in the De Soto Unified School District 232. Aaron holds a Master Degree in School Leadership from Baker University, a Master Degree in Teaching from Washington State University, a Bachelor Degree in Fisheries and Wildlife Management from Michigan State University, and an Associate Degree in Science from Mott Community College in Flint, Michigan.

Aaron has been a part of the District Leadership Team, Building Leadership Team, Administrator at sub-varsity athletic events, Science Department Technology Guru, SITE Counsel, Calendar Committee, GENEA Building Rep, and a Building Buddy for new teachers. He is also the sponsor of the Ecology Club and the Fishing Club.

Aaron was most recently recognized as the 2023 Kansas Association for Conservation and Environmental Education (KACEE) Award high school recipient. This award is presented to educators from across Kansas who demonstrate leadership and excellence in providing quality, hands-on, science-based conservation and environmental education that teaches our children about richness, diversity, and the importance of our Kansas natural resources.

Aaron takes pride in being a part of USD 231 as an employee. Each day, he dedicates himself to embodying his educational philosophy, serving as an example to students of what positive and academically driven teacher-student interactions should look like. Aaron commits his time and energy to showing students that there are adults who genuinely care about them, going beyond their academic performance and talents. Being selected as the District Secondary Teacher of the Year is a source of great honor for Aaron.

Aaron will now move to the state level and participate in the Kansas Teacher of the Year (KTOY) selection process. The KTOY Program recognizes a Regional Finalist for each of the eight (8) regions. From the eight Representatives, a Kansas Teacher of the Year is selected. As a team, these designees are provided professional learning opportunities, visit school districts around the state, advocate for education at the state level, and represent teachers across Kansas. The Kansas Teacher of the Year is nominated to represent Kansas in the National Teacher of the Year Program. For additional information about the state program, visit

Congratulations, Aaron!!!