Search Site

This search form uses an instant search feature. As you type, search results will appear automatically below the search field. When you've entered you desired search terms use tab to navigate through the available results and hit enter to open the selected page or document.
USD 231 April Recognition
USD 231 April Recognition
Tuesday, May 07, 2019

April was a great month of success and awards for the Gardner Edgerton School District.

Regional Solo and Ensemble Festival results from Gardner Edgerton High School

Regional Solo and Ensemble Results for GEHS Band Members

1 Ratings – Receiving a medal and continuing to State on April 27th

          Katie Long – Horn Solo

          Carter Allenbrand – Trumpet Solo

          Riley Proctor – Flute Solo

          Brenton Wilden – Marimba Solo

          Michael Taylor – Alto Sax Solo

          Juli Cordero – Piccolo Solo

          Nate Sawchak – Trumpet Solo

          Samantha Marcotte – Clarinet Solo

          Sean Lanigan – Trombone Solo

          Nathan Proctor – Trumpet Solo

GEHS Woodwind Choir – Juli Cordero, Emily Gardiner, Elizabeth Guevara, Hannah Bunch, Samantha Marcotte, Jillian Velasquez, Stefany Williams, Katherine Austin, Chance Delaney, Logan Kleinsorge, Tate Allen, John McGuire, Jake Steward

2 Ratings – Receiving a Certificate of Excellent Performance

GEHS Brass Choir – Nate Sawchak, Carter Allenbrand, Hayley Wilcox, Nathan Proctor, Katie Long, Sean Lanigan, Aaron Crim, Evan Orozco, Logan Smith, Justin Garden

          GEHS Sax Quartet – Logan Kleinsorge, Tate Allen, Michael Taylor, Pearl Savanten

          GEHS Flute Trio – Juli Cordero, Elizabeth Guevara, Riley Buck

          GEHS Trombone Quartet – Sean Lanigan, Garrett Gordon, Logan Smith, Evan Orozco

          Kenzie Pearson – Flute Solo

          Ian Kramer – Clarinet Solo

          John McGuire – Alto Sax Solo

          Jake Steward – Bari Sax Solo

          Elizabeth Guevara – Flute Solo

          Ryan Blackwell – Clarinet Solo

          Jacob Rhoades – Clarinet Solo

          Kathrine Austin – Clarinet Solo

          Eden Cappelatti – Flute Solo

          Jillian Velasquez – Clarinet Solo

          Evan Orozco – Trombone Solo


3 Rating

          Juli Cordero – Oboe Solo


The JCCC Shooting stars Gala was Sunday, April 7.  GEHS had seven finalists. Jordan Proctor won the top scholarship ($1400.00) in the Strings Category. There were 98 finalists from all over Johnson County.  These students are the best of the best in each of their categories.

The Shooting Stars Recognition, Scholarship & Awards Program was created in 1997, by former Arts Council of Johnson County chairman Bob Endres. Bob’s vision was to create a program that celebrated young Johnson County artists for their artistic excellence in high school. In other words, only the best of the best high school artists are chosen to participate in the ShootingStars Program!

Since its founding, Shooting Stars has awarded over $400,000 in college scholarships and almost $65,000 in teacher honorariums. In the spring, nine first place scholarships of $1,400 each, nine second place scholarships of $700 each, and nine teacher honorariums of $350 each will be awarded at the annual Shooting Stars Gala on April 7, 2019.

To participate in Shooting Stars you must be a 12th grade student who lives in Johnson County, Kansas, be nominated by an arts faculty member from your high school, and submit an Application. Once the Arts Council receives your nomination and application you become a Shooting Stars Finalist.

Pictured from left to right are:

Long Vo (2D Art), Logan Peralez (Theater Performance), Kara Groshong (3D Art), Jordan Proctor (Strings), Katherine Long (Winds & Percussion), Riley Buck (Voice Classical), Breanna Shelton (Production & Design)


 Five GEHS Broadcast Journalism Students traveled to Kansas State University in April for the Kansas Student Technology Leaders competition. Placing 5th in Informative PSA were Lindsey Babcock and Rachel Rutherford with their PSA titled, "Disconnect to Reconnect".  Placing 3rd in Video Production News Story were Shanlii Dace and Zoe Franklin with their story titled, "GEHS Car Club".


3rd Place

Gardner Edgerton High School

Video Production - News Story

GEHS Car Club

Shanlii Dace

Zoe Franklin

5th Place

Gardner Edgerton High School

Video Production - PSA

Disconnect to Reconnect

Lindsey Babcock

Rachel Rutherford


Our Middle School Robotics teams competed at Emporia State last week, and they did exceptionally well!  We competed against other middle and high school teams, as well as several college teams! Out of eight total awards given at this tournament, Gardner brought home five of them.  The schools and robotics coaches are very proud of all ten of our Gardner teams.

Wheatridge brought five teams to ESU: Microbots, Robo Chickens, Bot Miller, Harry Botter, and Illumiboti Confirmed.  All teams had high scores at one time or another in the tournament! Bot Miller ended up making it to the playoffs and earning fourth place overall out of forty teams.  In addition, Illumiboti Confirmed received the Team Spirit award and Harry Botter received Best Design out of the twenty teams on their field. Congratulations, Mustang Robotics!

Pioneer Ridge brought three teams to ESU: War Machine, The Matrix, and Na Na Na Na BOTMAN.  All teams had reasons to celebrate at this tournament! The Matrix and War Machine made it to the playoffs and The Matrix earned third place overall out of forty teams.  In addition, Na Na Na Na BOTMAN received Best Design out of the twenty teams on their field. Congratulations, Jaguar Robotics!  

Trail Ridge brought two teams to ESU: Marshmallow Martians and Galactic Gardner.  They put aside their programmed LEGO robots to dabble in the art of metal robots! With only a few weeks to build, these teams came together and had completed robots ready in time for their very first ESU tournament.  They did an incredible job and their coaches are very proud! Congratulations, Husky Robotics!