USD 231

The Kansas Principals Association (KPA) proudly recognizes Dr. Jason Jones, Sunflower Elementary School, as the Area I Elementary School Principal of the Year. In part, Dr. Jones received this award for being recognized by staff and administrators as innovative and visionary. Jason prioritizes building relationships with students and staff based on trust, which has allowed him to be extremely successful as a teacher and administrator.

KPA is an organization of over 700 school principals from across the state of Kansas. Dr. Jones was nominated and selected by peer principals. Candidates are evaluated on their school leadership, school improvement, dedication, professionalism, and service to students.

This recognition marks the third time in four years that a Gardner Edgerton School District principal has won this prestigious award. Mr. Carl Garrett, principal at Wheatridge Middle School, won in 2020, and Mr. John McIntire, principal at Pioneer Ridge Middle School, won in 2021.

Congratulations are extended from our district and the Kansas Principals Association to Dr. Jason Jones.