USD 231

Join us in thanking our Board of Education 

Public education is the backbone of American society, and local school boards are deeply rooted in U.S. tradition. In fact, in 1966, the people of Kansas amended our state’s constitution to specifically call for local public schools that are ‘maintained, developed and operated by locally elected boards.’ 

The seven individuals on our board of education are responsible for setting the vision for local education programming and partnering with staff and other members of the community to provide the facilities and infrastructure to achieve that vision. 

Their service to our school district is voluntary, and they spend hundreds of hours serving our schools. They research, study, and then discuss issues so that they can make informed decisions on countless complex challenges. Too often, we forget about the personal sacrifices school board members make.

Each board member is a strong advocate for the success of every child in our schools. They spend hours in meetings and on committees and also advocate for our schools with elected politicians by speaking out against budget cuts or pushing for policy and program reforms. 

Our board of education includes Tom Reddin (President), Lana Sutton (Vice President), Greg Chapman, Russ Ellis, Jeff Miller, Nick Robinson, and Katie Williams. 

January 2023 marks the annual observance of School Board Recognition Month. This is a time to shine a light on how local boards prepare today’s students to be tomorrow’s leaders. Please join with others throughout our district and state to thank the people who provide leadership for our public schools.