USD 231


Sydney Clarke, fifth-grade teacher at Wheatridge Middle School, has been recognized by the Kansas State Department of Education as an outstanding first-year teacher. Dr. Randy Watson, Commissioner of Education, called to congratulate Sydney on January 7, 2021. The Horizon Award is reserved for those teachers who have successfully completed their first year of teaching and have performed in such a way as to distinguish themselves as outstanding.

This marks the third time in three years that Gardner Edgerton teachers have won this prestigious award. Emily Baden, fourth-grade teacher at Nike Elementary won in 2020 and Katey Foley, French teacher at Gardner Edgerton High School won in 2019.

For the full article, click here:  KSDE Horizon Award Program

Sydney will be recognized during the February 1, 2021 Board of Education meeting.