USD 231

TOPEKA — One-hundred-forty Kansas high school seniors (including three GEHS students) have been named 2022 Kansas Career and Technical Education (CTE) Scholars, the Kansas State Department of Education announced Tuesday, April 12, 2022.

The Kansas CTE Scholar program is an opportunity to recognize well-rounded outstanding CTE students who are finishing their senior year of high school. This is the fourth year for the initiative.

Students must be a high school senior and meet the following criteria to be selected as a scholar:

  • Have earned or presently enrolled in 3.0 or more CTE credits with verification of technical skill attainment.
  • Senior-level status.
  • Have a CTE Grade Point Average (GPA) of 3.5 or better in CTE coursework.
  • Civic engagement or 100 community service hours with verification letter.
  • Work-place experience. These experiences can include school-based experiences, internships, clinicals, supervised agricultural experiences, community-based or student-led businesses located on or off the school campus. The experiences should reflect the career interests of the candidate and industry expectations. A minimum of 80 hours of experience is expected prior to submission.
  • Career vision summary statement. This is a short reflection of a candidate’s personal career vision and future plans. A maximum of 175 words is allowed.

Scholars receive a commemorative pin, special certificate and statewide recognition.

This year’s Kansas CTE Scholars are:

  • Will Lewis, Gardner Edgerton High School, Gardner Edgerton USD 231.
  • Gavin Klaassen, Gardner Edgerton High School, Gardner Edgerton USD 231.
  • Jackson Holle, Gardner Edgerton High School, Gardner Edgerton USD 231.