USD 231

Eleven veteran educators have been selected to represent the Gardner Edgerton School District in the state-sponsored Kansas Teacher of the Year (KTOY) program.

The Kansas Teacher of the Year Award recognizes and utilizes representatives of excellent teaching in the elementary and secondary classrooms of the state. The program’s mission is to build and utilize a network of exemplary teachers who are leaders in the improvement of schools, student performance, and the teaching profession.

A district selection committee will now evaluate the applications of each nominee and identify two (one elementary and one secondary) outstanding educators to represent the district in the state-wide program. As part of the process, these two finalists will complete a set of essays related to their current practice, solicit letters of reference from administrators, students, parents, and peers, and participate in a follow-up interview. 

The educators pictured below should be extremely proud, congratulated, and celebrated!

L to R:

EE - Megan Hawks

GE - Kelly Newman

GSE - Ann Vielhauer

MDE - Jenny Fisher

MLE - April Meyer

NE - Robyn Stewart

SE - Kristy Winter

PRMS - Dan O'Neill

TRMS - Nick Proctor

WMS - Justin Davidson

GEHS - Gina Campbell