GEHS Teacher Recognized by KSDE

October 14, 2020

Dr. Shannon Ralph, a science teacher at Gardner Edgerton High School, was recognized by the Kansas State Board of Education, the United School Administrators of Kansas, and The Confidence in Public Education Task Force on Tuesday, October 13, 2020.

The press release on the following page details Shannon and the team’s hard work! 

Thank you and congratulations, Dr. Ralph!!!

To watch a video of the presentation, click HERE.

Topeka, Kansas - The Confidence in Public Education Task Force is excited to announce the recipients of the 2020 ABC awards. This year’s recipients are Cindy Couchman, Superintendent of Buhler USD 313;  Dyane Smokorowski, Coordinator of Digital Literacy, Wichita USD 259; Dr. Shannon Ralph, a science teacher at Gardner Edgerton High School USD 231; Tabatha Rosproy, a teacher at Winfield Early Learning Center USD 465; and Dr. Cory Gibson, Superintendent of Valley Center USD 262. 

Each year, the Task Force presents the ABC Award to an individual or organization that has provided a long-term contribution, had a significant impact, or demonstrated an uncommon commitment to public education across the state. 

The task force recognized these special educators for their leadership and guidance in the development of the Continuous Learning Plan following the shut down of schools at the start of the pandemic. When Kansas schools shut their doors in March of this past year, Kansas needed guidance to help schools finish the school year. Commissioner Randy Watson convened a task force led by these distinguished educators: Kansas Teachers of the Year, Cindy, Dyane and Shannon; Superintendent of the Year, Cory; and National Teacher of the year Tabatha. 

Within one week these educators, along with the talented educators they recruited to join the team, developed the Continuous Learning Plan which helped lead teachers and students through the end of the school year. As the Kansas plan spread it also served as a foundation for other states as they developed their own continuous learning plans. 

The work didn’t stop there. The team and over 500 educators volunteered their summer breaks and worked on a plan to help guide school districts back to school in the fall. The Navigating Change guide serves as a working document for Kansas schools as educators work through the pandemic, but it was designed in such a manner that it will guide Kansas schools beyond just this one year, it may serve as a blueprint for educational opportunities and change in the future.  

The Confidence in Public Education Task Force congratulates these individuals, and thanks them for their inspiring dedication to education in Kansas. 

The Confidence Task Force is a non-profit corporation whose primary purpose is to strengthen confidence in Kansas public education and to increase awareness of the positive aspects of public education in this state.

The Task Force was created in 1981 to promote cooperation among state education agencies, bring recognition to volunteers serving public education in Kansas, and to heighten awareness of the important role of public education in our society. Members of the CIPE task force - Kansas NEA, Kansas Association of School Boards, Kansas State High School Activity Association, United School Administrators of Kansas, Kansas School Superintendents’ Association, and The League of Women Voters.